Heat Wave, Losing Plants & Continued Sowing

Well, we’re at the peak of summer, dealing with 104°F temps and smoke passing through from wildfires. The smoke is a lot worse this go round though; the smell is so strong and there’s such a dense haze outside. There’s so many states dealing with wildfires right now, it’s heartbreaking.

Due to the intense heat, the tomatoes have had their last push. I’ll be ripping them out of the garden soon, and then amending the rows. I’ve already ripped the summer squash out due to vine borers and squash bugs.

The okra is still producing and growing, peppers are slow going but producing, and the latest bush beans are starting to blossom. Cucumbers have produced enough to make some fridge pickles, which is nice. I was hoping to have a lot canned up this year, but things didn’t go as planned. There’s always next year tho!

Okra flowers from our Jing Orange and Alabama Reds!

The only sunflower that survived the storms. Such beautiful pink shades!

Overall, the summer garden is kind of coming to a close for us this year. I believe the peppers and okra will last a bit longer, but we’ll see. In the meantime I need to rip out what’s done for and add fresh compost to everything.

At least we had a last, decent little harvest!

Fall Seed Starts

In my previous post, I shared what seeds I had started so far for the fall garden. They have grown so much in such a short period of time. I love watching this process, it always amazes me and brings a smile to my face.

Since then though I’ve sown some more things such as:

  • Green + Red Oak Leaf Lettuce
  • Butterhead Lettuce
  • Winter Thyme
  • Rosemary
  • Sour Leaf (Hibiscus)
  • Lemon Balm
  • Mint
  • Catnip
  • Shiso
  • Maricella Red Lettuce
  • Black Seeded Simpson Lettuce
  • Lollo Rossa + Green Lettuce
  • Dark Opal Basil
  • Lemon Basil
  • Greek Oregano
  • Parsley
  • Fenugreek

The herbs and sour leaf will be outside until the first frost nears, then they’ll be pulled indoors. I plan on sowing some cilantro, spinach, carrots, arugula and other root veggies, but am trying to wait out the heat first.

I’d really like to plant some Buckwheat on the backside of the garden, but I’ll have to weed it and put some soil down first. I’d love to grow some in time to make tea out of it, and use the grain as well. To also suppress any leftover weeds in that area, break up some of the clay soil, and then tilled back in as a green fertilizer.

I think I have the garden plans officially mapped out now for fall. Just have to prep everything and decide on a time to rip things out, the closer it gets to the season. I’m anticipating trying to grow through winter this year too.

Yellow Wooly Bear

Seen a yellow wooly bear caterpillar for the first time the other day. I’m use to seeing the brown and black ones, but not solid white ones. This little one will turn into a beautiful white moth!

A Sweet Treat

Aside from gardening endeavors, I decided to make an Irish Apple Tart (Pie) the other day. Yum! I tried out a new recipe and it was delicious. The filling was a lot easier than the typical southern apple pie I’m use to making.

I’ll honestly probably start doing it this way from now on, or at least when we want a quicker pie. I may use my other ‘go-to‘ pie crust for it though.

Overall, it was tasty and it makes me wish fall was here even more! 🤭

I hope you all are doing well, and thanks for stopping by!

6 thoughts on “Heat Wave, Losing Plants & Continued Sowing

Leave a comment