True Leaf Market Haul & Seed Starting For Fall

Anyone that really knows me knows I probably don’t need more seeds… BUT there’s just so much to choose from out there! πŸ˜… I will say some packets I actually needed in order to sow this fall and again in spring. Figured it’d be easier than rush buying seeds that also may be sold out later on.

Half of the seeds I bought for this fall and the other half is next year’s warm crops. I recently sowed some seeds, a few days ago or so, for this year’s fall garden. I got started on it a little later than I had previously anticipated, due to all the storms that came through, but it’ll be fine.

I also ordered some trays and inserts, ones I haven’t used before but have wanted to for a long time. I’ve seen Charles Dowding use a method that requires trays like this, and figured I’d give it a try this year.

I’d love to get a full set of Bootstrap seed starting supplies, but it’s a bit too pricey for us right now. Maybe in the future! I absolutely love the colorful sets, especially when Jill from Whispering Willow Farm has her seasonal ones available.

Anyways – I’m excited to see how I’ll like these trays. I feel like it’ll be a lot easier to deal with when transplanting, bottom watering, keeping things grouped together, save on space, etc.. We’ll see I suppose!

I do want to note that I am an ambassador for this brand. After buying their seeds for a few years and it becoming my absolute go to each time, I figured why not! If you’d like to check out their products, here’s a link to their site.

If you’d like to become an ambassador too, here’s the application page.🌻

Seeds I Bought

Some of these are ones I’m replenishing and some are new altogether – which is exciting! We’ve been wanting to try new foods this year, and what better way than to grow it ourselves.

  • Royal Burgundy Bush Beans
  • Black Nebula Carrots
  • American Purple Top Rutabaga
  • Greek Oregano
  • Golden Flaxseed
  • Long Island Brussel Sprouts
  • Hot Jalapeno M Peppers
  • Rosemary
  • Purple Coneflower Echinacea
  • Roman Chamomile
  • Waltham 29 Broccoli
  • Snowball Y Improved Cauliflower
  • Manganji Sweet Pepper
  • Yatsufusa Japanese Pepper
  • Black Beauty Zucchini
  • Kellogg’s Breakfast Tomato
  • Dr. Wyche’s Tomato
  • Queensland Blue Winter Squash
  • Floradel Tomato
  • Texas 1015 Super Sweet Onions
  • Winter Thyme
  • Milk Thistle
  • Strike Bush Beans
  • Glory of Enkhuizen Cabbage
  • Ruby Red Swiss Chard
  • Black Lentils
  • Cucamelon
  • Crimson Tide Mustard

Trays & Inserts

I’ve used the small 32 or 72 cell trays before, which were from Wal-Mart or Lowes. They weren’t built to last but I milked it for as long as I could. They aren’t in the best shape right now, and aside from that I have 4″ and 6″ pots from Amazon.

It’s refreshing to have something like this, and makes sowing seeds a lot quicker too (in my opinion). I didn’t snap a picture of the trays by themselves, I thought I did, whoops! Here’s two that I used earlier this week.

(5 count) 10 x 10 Growing trays without drain holes.

(20 count) 5 x 5 Small growing tray inserts with drain holes.

They have the usual 10 x 20 trays, but this came out a little cheaper. It’s also the exact amount of trays-to-inserts that I needed. 4 inserts fit to a tray, in case you’re curious. Their site, on the product’s page, will list specifics of how many fits to what size and so forth.

I will admit, they’re a little on the thin side, but they seem to be sturdy enough. Time will only tell how they will hold up later on down the line. I really like them though and were exactly what I was looking for.

Sowing For Fall

At the beginning of this week I finally sowed some things for the fall garden. It’s a little later than I wanted, but most of it is cool weather crops anyways – so they’ll be fine if it cuts into the first frost. I’m also wanting to try and grow certain things through winter, using poly sheeting to cover crops.

So far the seeds have germinated quickly and they’re coming up nicely. I’m so excited about the fall garden this year, I really hope it does well! I still have some things I need to sow, which I’ll get to today or tomorrow.

This is what I’ve sowed so far:

  • Crimson Tide Mustard
  • Japanese Giant Red Mustard
  • Glory of Enkhuizen Cabbage
  • Purple Savoy Cabbage
  • Snowball Improved Cauliflower
  • Purple of Sicily Cauliflower
  • Purple Kohlrabi
  • Giant White Kohlrabi
  • American Purple Top Rutabagas
  • Long Island Brussel Sprouts
  • Ruby Red Swiss Chard
  • Scarlet Kale
  • Red Russian Kale
  • Komatsuna
  • Nabai Spring Pak Choy
  • Tatsoi
  • Chinese Cabbage
  • Purple Sprouting Broccoli
  • Waltham Broccoli
  • Carnatan Leeks
  • Large American Leeks
  • Red Bearded Bunching Onions
  • Long Winter Bunching Onions
  • Black Magic Kale
  • Vates Curled Kale

Lots of work to be done in the garden to prep for fall, but I’m ready for it! Favorite season of the year 🍁 Lets just hope the weather isn’t super crazy like it has been. I hope you’re doing well, and as always thanks for stopping by!

Happy gardening, everyone!

7 thoughts on “True Leaf Market Haul & Seed Starting For Fall

  1. I started using trueleaf last year after I found out I can save on shipping by picking the seeds up at the warehouse since their warehouse is near where I work. I love their seed selection and I agree, a gardener will always want more seeds. πŸ˜„

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Heat Wave, Losing Plants & Continued Sowing | Rooting for Sunshine

Leave a comment